Last night we had churros for dinner. It was amazing. Thick hot chocolate and sugar covered, deep fried in front of you churros. Best. Dinner. Ever. Seriously, sorry mom.
Iria told me today that she read my blog. My heart hurt. I was and am so ashamed. I refuse to delete posts because they are a file, a perminent glimpse at the feelings in that moment but I was ashamed. It is my very last wish to offend anyone, but I seem to offend a lot. I think its the ghetto in me.
My only experience at judging livestock is the dairy goat judging I did in high school as an FFA member. (We placed third at state...there were only three teams...) But its here I learned one of lifes great lessons, that apparently hasnt sunk in yet. You never ever point out a flaw in an animal, never mention a negative, you only place an animal over another for its superiority in some area. What wisdom.
And at YMCA camp, at the end of the week during the prayer walk, theres a story that tell kids to carve the good in stone, and the bad in sand. Always remember the good and the good in people, and forget the bad. What wisdom.
As we sat, Iria teaching me spanish her mom brought a geography book of Spain and Iria pointed out Galicia...and its flag. She knows what it means and I like it. The Galician flag is white for purity with a blue strip from the bottom left to the top right to symbolize the sea.
Today Carlos, Dani and I toured As Pontes on bikes. I was scared when I saw Carlos in biking shorts because this means heres serious. I´ve forgotten how fabulous bikes are. Dad always said bikes are the best way to see a place, which is why any vacation ever taken as a family had two bikes in tow. Speaking of Dad, hes looking at flights and wants to come ride El Camino de Santiago...kid hasnt seen Galicia. There are mountains and lots of them, but he tells me, 'You're strong enough to do what we want to do (no crime in walking a hill!).' This boys and girls is what we call delusional, but alas its how my family functions and to be honest its a great thing.
Back to. As Pontes is awesome and I´m ashamed I havent gotten out to see it before now. I think its funny that we stopped to look at two different dams. This is only funny because when Dad and I ride the trail to the Veledrome on friday nights in the summer, we always stop and sit at the dam. They showed me a really great park where I can run in the morning, it comes complete with a statue of Estrella Galicia, the regions beer. At the top of the dam I found the top spot, there were guys kicked the futbol around, and girls in the car blasting the euro music, chillin. Sail boat and kayaks on the water, clouds in the sky, bikes, water, music and chill. What more could you ask for? Then we raced down the mountain, shouting 'Hola's!' to the old men with canes and old women sitting on benches. I like As Pontes, theres a lot to see here, lots of little places to stick your head in and explore, and there are always old people walking around. I cant talk to them much but I like to think if I needed help, theres always someone around, they're just likely to be 80 years old. Nothing wrong with that.
Carlos and I are breaking down the communication barrier. Today he saw me sucking on honeysuckle and asked about it. ALSO! We played basketball. I'm pretty awful but I like to think its the rim. Dinner included bread and a tomato/garlic puree that was amazing. I keep telling them I'm going to make an American meal...but I´'m putting it off, 1. I´m scared I´m going to screw it up without Mom or a grandmother here to help. 2. Its so much work! Ugh, I can do noodles okay but then theres everything else, it just takes forever.
I want to make peach cobbler so while we were at the market, I tried to ask for oats...an almost failure. No one knew what hot cereal, nor oats were and I couldnt explain it, so we went to the cereal aisle, searched and found it. You drain the peaches before you put them in the cobbler right? I know how to do this, its easy and I've done it before, but that a pretty major step I cant seem to remember. But I'm pretty positive you drain them...you have to...I'm sure you have to.
Just got an email from Dad, he had told me the price of tickets and I suggested we wait until the off season for cheaper flights. His response:
Now or never?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment